top of page

concept & vision

Music &

Travel

Music & Travel
November 25, 2018, 3 p.m., at Zurich Airport

 

An anniversary concert for the 15th birthday of Zurich Airport's big band.

Motto: from swing to classical music.

We have many favorite pieces of music that have accompanied us on our unforgettable journeys. Among them are pieces that we have come to love. We associate this music with beautiful memories of our travels.

Music and travel are a perfect couple.

 

Music is an integral part of the travel experience, whether it's anticipating creating playlists for the trip or just soaking up the sounds around you when you're on vacation. Music can fill travel moments with wonder, it can energize to persevere in everyday moments, and seeing live music in a foreign city can be more valuable than any travel guide as you can meet like-minded locals and travelers alike.

 

Music can connect us to a place, it creates sonic memories, because travel is not just a glimpse of sights or a taste of local cuisine. Music is at the center of many people's travel experiences and it brings many new experiences.

 

Together with the airport orchestra, "More than Classic" presents music related to travel. We will inspire travelers, their families and friends, people who work at the airport and many others, evoking feelings of happiness, nostalgia and memories. "More than Classic" will support the big band with a professional string ensemble (4/3/2/2/1) and will not only offer them new sounds, but also new dimensions of programming from jazz to classical and contemporary music bring. In addition, we have commissioned the renowned Swiss composer Daniel Schnyder, who will take up the theme of travel in his work and integrate the music of Swiss towns and villages.

 

Our anniversary concert is presented by:

Zurich Airport Orchestra

Sandro Oberholzer, conductor

LGT Young Soloists (tbc)

 

Factories:

A selection of pieces from swing to classical music, including the world premiere of Daniel Schnyder's commissioned work for "More than Classic".

bottom of page

concept & vision

Music &

Travel

Music & Travel
25. November 2018, 15 Uhr, am Flughafen Zürich

 

Ein Jubiläumskonzert zum 15. Geburtstag der Big-Band des Flughafens Zürich.

Motto: vom Swing zur klassischen Musik.

Wir haben viele Lieblingsmusikstücke, die uns auf unseren unvergesslichen Reisen begleitet haben. Darunter gibt es Stücke, die wir zu lieben lernten. Diese Musik verbinden wir mit wunderschönen Erinnerungen an unseren Reisen.

Musik und Reisen sind ein perfektes Paar.

 

Musik ist ein wesentlicher Bestandteil des Reiseerlebnisses, egal ob man nun voller Vorfreude Playlisten für die Reise erstellt oder einfach nur die Geräusche um sich herum aufsaugt, wenn man im Urlaub ist. Musik kann Reisemomente mit Staunen erfüllen, sie kann Energie geben, um in alltäglichen Momenten auszuharren, und Live-Musik in einer fremden Stadt zu sehen, kann wertvoller sein als jeder Reiseführer, da man gleichgesinnte Einheimische wie auch Reisende treffen kann.

 

Musik kann uns mit einem Ort verbinden, sie schafft akustische Erinnerungen, denn Reisen ist nicht nur ein Blick auf Sehenswürdigkeiten oder eine Kostprobe der lokalen Küche. Musik ist das Zentrum der Reiseerlebnisse vieler Menschen und sie bringt viele neue Erfahrungen.

 

"More than Classic" präsentiert gemeinsam mit dem Flughafen-Orchester Musik, die im Zusammenhang mit Reisen steht. Wir werden Reisende, ihre Familien und Freunde, Menschen, die am Flughafen arbeiten und viele andere inspirieren und dabei Gefühle von Glück, Nostalgie und Erinnerungen wecken. "More than Classic" wird der Big-Band mit professionellem Streichensemble (4/3/2/2/1) zur Seite stehen und ihnen damit nicht nur neue Klänge, sondern auch neue Dimensionen der Programmierung vom Jazz bis hin zu Klassik und zeitgenössischer Musik bringen. Zusätzlich haben wir einen Auftrag an den renommierten Schweizer Komponisten Daniel Schnyder vergeben, der in seinem Werk die Reisen-Thematik aufgreifen und die Musik der Schweizer Städten und Dörfern einbinden wird.

 

Unser Jubiläumskonzert wird präsentiert von:

Flughafen-Orchester Zürich

Sandro Oberholzer, Dirigent

LGT Young Soloists (tbc)

 

Werke:

Stückauswahl vom Swing zur klassischen Musik, inklusive Weltpremiere vom Auftragswerk für "More than Classic" von Daniel Schnyder.

© 2017 by More than Classic

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon